Resume of Limpopo MEC for Education Ms Lerule-Ramakhaya


Ms. Lerule-Ramakhanya was born in the former Louis Trichardt now Makhado Town. A Seasoned leader of the African National Congress and its progressive leagues. She cut her political teeth within the ranks of the ANCYL in Vhembe Region of Limpopo where she served as a former Limpopo Provincial Deputy Chairperson, and as former Vhembe Regional Treasurer. As a community activist, she was a member of the civil organisation SANCO from 1997 where she served as head of Youth Desk.
After serving her organisation’s Youth wing, she later graduated to the mother body, the African National Congress as the Provincial Executive Committee Member in Limpopo Province. She was also elected as a member of the Provincial Working Committee. Ms Lerule-Ramakhanya also served as a leader of the Political Education Desk within the Vhembe Regional Committee. She also served as an ANCWL branch secretary in the Vhembe Region. After alignment In 2016 of municipal boundaries she was elected as a member of her Branch Task Team as the Convenor and later became a Chairperson of the Branch.

Comrade Mavhungu Lerule-Ramakhanya is a long-time member of the South African Communist Party (SACP) from 2000 to date. She is the Chairperson of the Alpheus Malivha District of the SACP (SACP Limpopo Province- Vhembe District). She was responsible for Strategic planning for the programs of the district, implementing programmes of the organisation in the district, launching and monitoring branches. She was also responsible for the international commission.
Lerule-Ramakhanya for the second time has served her organisation, the African National Congress from 2018 to date as a member of the Provincial Executive Committee, the member of Provincial Working Committee and Convener of deployees for ANC in Waterberg Region. She is a Chairperson of the Education and Health sub-committee of the ANC.


She was an Executive Committee Member (EXCO) of Makhado Municipality from 2000 to 2006 under the portfolio of Special Programmes, Sports, Arts and Culture (Part-time). Her responsibilities included Planning for municipality viability, she was also responsible for coordination of Political activities of the Mayor’s Office, formulating all stakeholders committees (Women, Youth, Disabled), arranging stakeholders for participation on government activities like Imbizos, sports Infrastructure for Sports and Arts Programme.
She also served at Local Government Structures from 2006 to 2010 as the deputy chairperson of SALGA, and the member of the portfolio committee, Head of Governance and IRG. Her responsibilities included, representing the Chairperson at Stakeholders meetings, attending National meetings on behalf of the province, and as a trainer of other trainers on government and municipal roles amongst others.

She was appointed as Executive Mayor of Vhembe District Municipality from 14 December 2018 – 21 May 2019. From 22 May 2019 to 26 March 2020, she served the Limpopo Provincial Legislature as the Speaker and ultimately got appointed as the Member of Executive Council for Transport and Community Safety from the 26 March 2020 until today.